The East African Community (EAC) is an intergovernmental organization composed of six countries: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda. The organisation was founded in 1967, it collapsed in 1977, and was revived on 7 July 2000.

  • Start

    Kenya & Uganda

    Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda have cooperated with each other since the early 20th century.

  • 1917

    First Customs Union

    A Customs union between Kenya and Uganda created in 1917, which Tanganyika joined in 1927,

  • 1927

    Tanganyika Joins Customs union

    Tanganyika joined the Customs union between Kenya and Uganda created in 1917, in 1927

  • 1948

    East African High Commission (EAHC)

    Inter-territorial co-operation between the Kenya Colony, the Uganda Protectorate, and the Tanganyika Territory was formalised in 1948 by the EAHC. This provided a customs union, a common external tariff, currency, and postage. It also dealt with common services in transport and communications, research, and education. Following independence, these integrated activities were reconstituted and the EAHC was replaced by the EACSO, which many observers thought would lead to a political federation between the three territories. The new organisation ran into difficulties because of the lack of joint planning and fiscal policy, separate political policies, and Kenya's dominant economic position. In 1967, the EACSO was superseded by the EAC. This body aimed to strengthen the ties between the members through a common market, a common customs tariff, and a range of public services to achieve balanced economic growth within the region.

  • 1961

    East African Common Services Organization (EACSO) formed

    The East African Common Services Organization (EACSO) from 1961 to 1967

  • 1967

    East African Community Formed

    The 1967 to 1977 East African Community (EAC)

  • 2009

    Burundi and Rwanda joined EAC

    Burundi and Rwanda joined the EAC on 6 July 2009.

Ministry of East Africa Community Affairs (MEACA) Head Office

Plot 67/75 Yusuf Lule Road, Postel Building, 2nd & 9th Floors

Mon – Fri:
08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Sat – Sun:

Need to contact the Ministry of East African Community?

WhatsApp chat