The EAC Common Market

The Protocol was adopted and signed by the EAC Heads of State on 20 November 2009 in Arusha, Tanzania.

Thereafter, the Protocol underwent the necessary ratification processes in the Partner States before entering into force on 20 May 2010 when all the Partner States deposited their respective instruments of ratification with the Secretary General. Its implementation commenced on 1st July 2010

The EAC Common Market Protocol, in accordance with the provisions of Articles 76 and 104 of the Treaty, provides for the following, to be progressively implemented:

(i) free movement of goods;
(ii) free movement of persons;
(iii) free movement of workers;
(iv) the right of establishment;
(v) the right of residence;
(vi) free movement of services; and
(vii) free movement of capital

In addition, the Protocol provides for cooperation in the following areas that are necessary for the effective functioning of the common market and maximising the benefits derived there from:

(i) protection of cross border investments
(ii) economic and financial sector policy coordination
(iii) competition and consumer welfare
(iv) commercial policy
(v) coordination of transport policies
(vi) harmonisation of social policies
(vii) environmental management
(viii) statistics
(ix) research and technological development
(x) intellectual property rights
(xi) industrial development; and
(xii) agriculture and food security

The EAC Common Market is based on the following fundamental operational principals:

  • Non-discrimination of nationals of other Partner States on grounds of nationality;
  • Equal treatment to nationals of other Partner States;
  • Ensure transparency in matters concerning the other Partner States; and
  • Share information for the smooth implementation of the Protocol.