Joint Communiqué: 17th Ordinary Summit of the East African Community Heads of State

Wednesday, March 2, 2016


Above: EAC Heads  of State at the 17th Ordinary Summit March 2016

1. The east african community heads of state,

Their excellences president dr. John Pombe Joseph Magufuli of the united republic of Tanzania, president Yoweri Kaguta Museveni of the republic of Uganda, president Paul Kagame of the republic of Rwanda, president Uhuru Kenyatta of the republic of Kenya, and H.E. Dr. Joseph Butore, 2nd vice president of the Republic of Burundi, held the 17th ordinary summit of the east African community heads of state at the Ngurdoto mountain lodge in Arusha, Tanzania on 2nd march, 2016. H.E. Dr. Ali Mohamed Shein, President of Zanzibar, and H.E. James Wani Igga, vice president of the republic of south Sudan were in attendance. The heads of state and government met in a warm and cordial

2. The summit received the annual report of the council of ministers covering the period November 2014 - November 2015 and noted the steady progress made in the implementation of the programmes of the community.

3. The summit considered progress in the implementation of key outstanding decisions and other policy issues of strategic importance to the east African community and noted that there are: - council decisions/directives that have remained outstanding for many years; delays in ratification of protocols; and noted that there are bills enacted by the east African legislative assembly that have remained unassented to.