Meaca Logo Meaca Logo Uganda Coat of Arms Map Of Uganda

Developed in conjunction with Joomla extensions.

Mission And Vision

Mission Statement
To ensure that Ugandans benefit from the East African Community integration

Vision Statement
A prosperous people in a secure federated  East Africa

Find Us On Facebook
EAC to redesign flag, emblem

The East African Community is to develop a new brand that will lead to changes in the EAC emblems and symbols. This will affect the flag, the emblem and the EAC theme colours.

The EAC Brand Architecture Strategy proposes several initiatives that include designing a new EAC Logo and Flag, developing a common unique identifier for all Organs and Institutions; developing one primary (main) EAC Corporate Colour and one Secondary Colour; and developing a single visual identity emblem for the Community.
The EAC Brand Architecture Strategy comes in the wake of the admission of the Republic of South Sudan and the possibility of the future expansion of the Community in line with Article 3 of the Treaty establishing the EAC. Article 3, clause 2 of the Treaty provides that “The Partner States may, upon such terms and in such manner as they may determine, together  negotiate  with  any  foreign  country  the  granting  of  membership  to,  or association of that country with, the Community or its participation in any of the activities of the Community”.
Currently the emblem features a map of Lake Victoria with the partner states Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda around it. This is surrounded by an industrial wheel with a leave arch on either side with the letters 'EAC' at the top. At the bottom of the emblem is a pictogram of a handshake. Below this is written in Kiswahili is "Jumuiya ya Afrika Mashariki" which translates as 'East African Community'. It precludes the Republic of South Sudan and any members that may be admitted to the community in future.

 The EAC has 8 institutions in different partner states with various mandates, each with a different logo. The rebranding will lead to the development of a unique identifier for all institutions and organs of the community like the East African Court of Justice and the east African Legislative Assembly. The EAC institutions are:

    Civil Aviation Safety and Security Oversight Agency (CASSOA);
    East African Development Bank (EADB);
    East African Health Research Commission (EAHRC);
    East African Kiswahili Commission (EAKC);
    East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTECO);
    Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA);
    Lake Victoria Basin Commission (LVBC); and
    Lake Victoria Fisheries Organization (LVFO).

 The rebranding is also in line with the Decisions of the EAC Council of Ministers.  The 24th Meeting of the Sectoral Council of Ministers Responsible for EAC Affairs and Planning in June 2016 considered and adopted the EAC Brand Architecture and directed the EAC Secretariat to use the Youth in the region in the process of developing the new EAC Brand Architecture.
In order to implement the Council Decision on the rebranding, the EAC will run Adverts calling for entries for the re-design in the month of April 2017.
The EAC will also conduct Sensitization workshops and involve the Youth on the EAC Brand Architecture in Universities of the Partner States and launch the EAC Brand Architecture re-design competition in May 2017.
Cris Magoba
Principal Public Relations Officer
Ministry of East African Community Affairs
P.O.BOX 7343, Kampala, Uganda.
Tel: (direct) +256 414 252282
Mobile/WhatsApp +256772569109

Uganda Coat of Arms

2nd & 9th Floor, Postel Building
Plot, 67/75 Yusuf Lule Road, Kampala
P.O.Box 7343, Kampala, Uganda

Telephone: +256 0414 340100
Fax: +256 0414 348171


© Copyright 2017 | Ministry of East African Community Affairs - Republic of Uganda | All rights reserved